Happy New Year!

On New Year’s Eve, I wrote a brief note that reads:

 

This is a recommended to-do list before the New Year:
  1. Congratulate yourself for making it thus far. You fucked up. You changed. You tried. You worked hard. You made it. Give credit where credit is due.
  2. Be grateful. To the people who matter. To the ones who used to matter. To the ones who were there. To those who left. To those who stayed. And to the ones that you will be there for.
  3. Prepare. Write the achievable resolutions. Create the reminders to take care of yourself. Remember that 2017 will have it’s own challenges ahead.
Take my to-do list with a grain of salt. You may have done well or worse than others, but that does not mean you’ll experience the exact same things in the coming year. I have had my ups and downs, and my gains and losses. Appreciate yours and move forward.
Happy New Year.
This universal note, I made public for people’s sharing. But the background stories of each item stretched back to the events of last year. I lost friends and got new enemies. I reforged allies and created new friends. But re-listing the things I have achieved and failed at will sound redundant. Instead, I’ll finish this reflection by saying that I am looking forward to my successes and failures for the coming year.
As my sister said: The New Year is just a state of mind. It’s just another day.
Happy new year,
Enya
Leave a Reply

