How I Will Read Anne Frank – #BEDO Day 2

It may surprise many that despite my prolific readings, I have not read the Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank.

I am an English Major, but I haven’t read Anne Frank. You’d be surprised at how many notable pieces of literature I have failed to read, and the reasons for that are few:

  1. The public education system doesn’t allow a lot of elbow room to read beyond the provided (and loosely implemented) S.R.A. Reading Lab.
  2. The libraries of my primary and secondary education were limited and selected, respectively.
  3. I didn’t have a required reading list prior to entering college – and I got my first list just this semester in my third year.
  4. We didn’t have a lot of classics in the family library.
  5. I didn’t have a lot of access to the internet because one can be computer literate and then lose the unit for the most part of five years or so.

To say that my circumstances are the reason behind my vigorous book collecting is a definite truth. But the reason why I’m delaying my reading of this notable work is personal and may come across as unorthodox and unnecessary to the outside reader.

The Diary of A Young Girl is a chronicle of a war-ridden nightmare seen through the eyes of the young Jewish girl named Anne. Her story is divided into the days she could write, and I plan to do the very same.

As someone who lives in the Philippines with a president headlining most media platforms with his controversial War on Drugs, I thought it’d be a unique writing experience to write about my days parallel to Anne’s. I would go about my day as I would and then write about it. I will then read her entry on the same day all those years ago and compare realities. I don’t know what I want to achieve on this outside of this reflective writing activity. Maybe I hope to gain a few insights as I explore this new reading experience.

I honestly don’t know what could happen. I may have a boring like compared to hers, but will our realities resonate? I don’t mean to say that I am hunted like she was but will our nightmares have the same chilling effect on a nation, a world that’s full of atrocities against humanity? I guess we’ll find out.

 

24th of June with Anne soon,
Enya

Leave a Reply

