Thinking About NaNoWriMo – #BEDS Day 19

So I got into two separate conversations with friends where we breached the topic of pursuing a career in writing, and naturally, NaNoWriMo came to mind. Honestly, I’m already having a hard time blogging every day in September – loving it, it’s just really hard to do so far, how much more having an aim of writing a 50,000-word rough draft in the 30 days of November? That’s approximately, 2000 words a day. I can barely hit 1K on a daily blog post.

nanowrimo

And I know a blog post is completely different from a chapter in a novel, but I’M NOT EVEN SURE IF I CAN WRITE A NOVEL. I tried. Several times. I posted them somewhere but they’re dead. I have yet to bring them stories back to life for development and a lot of improvements, but that’s not happening anytime soon. Maybe after I graduate and get to learn more about how not to suck in the reading business.

It’s why I enrolled in the English program. A long time ago, someone helped me entertain the notion that after having a lot to say about the books that I’ve read, why not try to write the corrections myself. It was a nice thought, one I took seriously and even played with earlier in my high school years. Sad to say, I don’t think it’s ready for the public’s eye yet (*sarcastic ‘Ha’*) but maybe this could remedy that.

Maybe I should start. Maybe I can do it. I just need to have a game plan, right? But then there’s another problem – I’M STILL IN UNIVERSITY. I have requirements, extra-curriculars, house responsibilities, the blog, and what little social life I have left – and by social life, I mean 1) my friends 2) reading 3) movies 4) my reading and 5) Tumblr.

I still have to put more thought into the idea of me participating in this year’s NaNoWriMo but for now, let the idea of me writing a novel be a pleasant fantasy.

Leave a Reply

