Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters You Just Didn’t Click With – #BEDS Day 1

Every now and then we come across different personalities in books that we just don’t mix well with. The same can be said in real life but because making a list like that would be too controversial, I’ll settle with this.

#10: Juliette from the Shatter Me Trilogy by Tahereh Mafi

I love the Shatter Me Trilogy, and I was happy at the turnout in the series but I just sympathize with her as much as I thought I would. She has her defining moments but I couldn’t stand her “I’m so weak” mindset for the most part in the series.

#9: Jason Grace from the Heroes of Olympus Series by Rick Riordan

Jason has been, for the most part, a functioning part of the Seven in the series but most of the time, he’s always in the wrong place at the wrong time and his conflicts were a little downplayed. The under-appreciation may have come from the fact that the fans have seen more in Percy’s POV and are more likely to appreciate his character development than Jason. And yeah, I can see where Jason comes from most of the time in the series but I think I needed a little more to be wholly accepting of his character (sorry).

#8: Clancy Gray from the Darkest Minds Trilogy by Alexandra Bracken

This kid is beyond manipulative and as much as I can appreciate that in a character’s individuality, I just couldn’t understand what truly motivates him. I haven’t grasped the full reason of his actions and frankly, I couldn’t care less anymore. I just really didn’t like him for the sole reason that I don’t approve of his methods.

#7: Natalie Velez from Panic by Lauren Oliver

Natalie was sketchy from the beginning of this book. She has a tendency to make bad decisions based on no logic at all and the consequences are damaging to her and to her relationship with Heather.

#6: Margo Roth Spiegelman from Paper Towns by John Green

I just hated her, really. She’s smart and vengeful and is basically the kind of person you make sappy contemporary novels out of and I just hate how she just fell into that box.

#5: Adam from the Shatter Me Trilogy by Tahereh Mafi

Adam is the prime example of a clingy and immature boyfriend that relies of his most basic instincts to impress and keep a lady. He probably didn’t mean to, but most of the time he was limiting Juliette from achieving her potential and any possible room fro character development – had he been successful.

#4: America Singer from the Selection Trilogy by Keira Cass

Perfect example of the kind of character that makes snap decisions without leaving any room for failure. Whilst being annoying.

#3: Sophie from The School for Good and Evil Trilogy by Soman Chainani

Yet again, another character that jumps headfirst into clear and present danger and expecting results that supposedly should’ve fulfilled her selfish intents. But of course all her decisions – paired with the decisions of her anti-character Agatha, will all indefinitely end in her own, and everyone else’s demise.

#2: Molly Barlow from 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

Molly had a lot of potential not being on this list if the whole message of the story was introduced earlier on and getting to see her as someone with a backbone and not as a walking social target that she allowed herself to be in the book.

#1: Amy Van Dorn from Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

No question. I couldn’t click with her because I understood her. I don’t mean to be confusing but I realized that the primary reason why I didn’t like Amy at all is because she fit into the idea that she was a smart person despite her cerebral palsy. But despite her already existing issues, she makes a move to fix others’ and while it’s noble, it just adds to her problem. And then there was the mistake that she made that just really threw me off.


Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish where each week, a new Top Ten List prompt inspires lists that can feature anything as long as it’s a list. And because it works as an effective writing prompt for those who need to develop their writing habits – especially my procrastinating self, I will TRY to make this a weekly thing.

#BEDS or Blogging Every Day in September is a concept created by Ada of Estranged Magic in which we try to publish at least one blog post of any category or subject matter every day for the month of September.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters You Just Didn’t Click With – #BEDS Day 1

  1. Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

    I had Molly, America Singer and Margo on my list too. The first two are just the most frustrating characters to read about, with almost no character development. And Margo is just nothing special.

    I have yet to read the Shatter Me trilogy…but seeing your thoughts on Juliette and Adam, I’m kind of scared.

    • Enya says:

      Actually, Shatter Me’s a really good read overall, since it did made the cut into my favorites. But I refer to their (Juliette and Adam) sense of self early in the series. The existing character development in the whole story’s really good, it was just that I didn’t click with them at first.

      But I strongly recommend reading it. But mostly because of Warner *wink*

Leave a Reply

