Popcorn Popping: Inside Out

Now that I think about it, the voices in my head is probably governed by Disgust now that I go to know them in the film. Not sure if that was a pun or not.

The film is produced by Walt Disney Pictures and Pixar Animation Studios – a partnership that has always produced tear-jerking films since forever. Inside Out is about an 11-year-old girl named Riley who moves to San Francisco with her parents. Through this life-changing event, she’s guided by her emotions Joy, Sadness, Fear, Disgust and Anger as she tries to get by. But overcome by stress, Sadness ends up at the reigns, much to Joy’s dismay. Later, Joy and Sadness inadvertently get swept into the deeper parts of Riley’s brain, leaving Fear, Disgust and Anger to deal with the repercussions.

I really love how the film has a lot of casual smart jokes thrown in the screenplay – but was kind of upset they didn’t incorporate “losing your train of thought” since I was sure it would come out somehow. I love the explanations behind forgetting different kinds of information and how our imagination works and dreams. But despite that, I feel like it lacked something else that even I can’t explain. Maybe it was the play at the parent’s emotions – I feel like that could’ve been developed a little more. Of the fact that we can recall a few things from our long forgotten past – like imaginary friends, or the fact someone did have them at one point in their lives.

My point is that this could’ve been a masterpiece but there was something missing. Don’t get me wrong, I love the film, there was just something missing. That’s it.

Overall Rating: 4.8 out of stars

Leave a Reply

