Let’s Talk Books: The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

This has been my best read of the month so far – not that I have been blogging or reading much, but nevertheless this has been a wonderful breath of fresh air in the world of contemporary novels.

This book actually has two covers with the same basic design with different color palettes, the one if the photo is the one I prefer because the color scheme is a lot less glaring. I love how the design encompasses the entire cover and despite its minimalism, it’s all-consuming in the thought that will later be significant once you’ve read the book. A- book cover.

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider is a book about a boy named Ezra Faulkner – which I always misread as Erza because of Fairy Tail, who loses his sense of self as he 1) finds out his girlfriend cheated on him, 2) got into an accident that shattered his leg, and 3) basically loses the identity of being a golden boy. After isolating himself from his old band of popular kids, he begins to hang out with his ex-best friend Toby and his fellow members of the debate and falls in love with the new girl – who as always, is more than whats he seems, Cassidy Thorpe.

Sometimes I can’t articulate how much I love this book if only because of the characters. My favorite scenes that involve Ezra’s first debate tournament – because it was so reminiscent of mine, and how he dealt with everything. But I hate a certain event that made me really upset which I will not disclose because of spoilers. Actually I hate a good two or three of them but I can’t say which they were for obvious reasons. I love this book, I hope you guys read it, and let me know more about how you felt in the comments below.

Overall rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

