Summer by Summer by Heather Burch

Let’s Talk Books: Summer by Summer by Heather Burch

When I decided to read this book, I thought I was just going in-and-out read, love, review and shelf another love story. Not the first time I was wrong and it’s great.

I have spent the last four hours unraveling the story of a girl Summer who takes a job as a nanny for a family vacationing in Belize before going to college. She, of course, loves her job, and the family she works for, save for the seemingly insufferable Bray – older brother to her charge and all-around near-absent party-boy. When a diving trip goes awry, they find themselves stranded on an island with nothing but each other to stave through.

I have mixed feelings about the cover. I mean, the same with the Darkest Minds, I read this in ebook form so I didn’t have much to go on except for the brief introduction as to what the book was about. The background looks like a profile picture and the words seem to be placed arbitrarily – because sometimes putting the author’s name above the title of the book can work, but this is one instance that just didn’t work that way. I’ll give it a C on the cover, though.

Now I may have given the cover a low score but the book itself is really, REALLY good. The pace of the story never wavered and all the important details come full circle in the plot. I kind of expected this would be a pick-me-up type of a romance novel, but it wasn’t. Instead, I was at the edge of my seat – bed, actually, my dog took my reading chair – and I loved how the characters developed together as individuals especially the couple themselves. The events were worded so magnificently to capture the treacherous experiences and there’s a brief play at the shallowness of sensationalized media.

Side note: I got a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest and freely given review. In which I may have done quite too honestly.

Overall rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

