Book Cover

Let’s Talk Books: The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

I haven’t had time to properly read this book recently but I finally finished it and thank god it did not disappoint.

The Darkest Minds is about this girl named Ruby who is part of the few surviving kids between the ages of 10-18 that developed certain powers that were deemed dangerous by the government. At ten, she finds herself sent to camp Thurmond – the one of many rehabilitation camps arranged by the United States government. When she turns sixteen the extent of her powers are revealed and she escapes, finds a trio of escaped Psi and go off in search for the mysterious East River – a Neverland for Psi, but like everything else in a dystopian series, not everything is as it seems.

Since I read this from an ebook, I really couldn’t glean much from the cover except that there’s a creepy symbol that will make sense at the second half of the book, and a background that I think is mud from its premise in the book. I like how the fonts blended together in that textured background also the color palette is kind of refreshing to me. And as always, I grade the book cover a good B+

Now, it may be because of the circumstances of my reading of this book, but I had some level of difficulty enjoying it. Don’t get me wrong, I loved this book, I love all the characters but I think there was something I was looking for that I didn’t find, and it may have something to do with a certain character who I cannot name because spoilers. I will finish this series but in the meantime I must start mentally preparing myself as school is coming in a few weeks.

Overall rating: 4.4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

