All the Bright Places

Let’s Talk Books: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

There’s not a lot of books that can make me rethink a lot about my own past, but All the Bright Places managed to do just that and like all books that are thought provoking, it made to the list of my top favorite YA contemporary fiction – obviously, I’m not going to include rank, other books might get jealous and that would be unfair.

In addition to the brisk rise of this novel as one of my favorites, its cover is scrapbook worthy. I have been planning to make artworks inspired by the looks of the cover but I kind of have a lot on my plate as of the moment so maybe next time – but the use of sticky notes and what I think is supposed to be a flat felt tip marker and a pretty background, *sighs* magnificent. But unlike my last review of A Little Something Different, All the Bright Places is misleading (sorry for the vague spoiler ha.).

All the Bright Places is about two teens who meet at the top of a bell tower and will spend the rest of the book trying to learn about living and dying from each other. One is Violet Markey who appears to lost hold of her life and is trying to sort of win it back, and the other is Theodore Finch, or just Finch who appears to have things figured out despite his oddities. The two are drawn closer together for a school project to discover “natural wonders” in their vicinity and realize that despite their strikingly different lives in high school, they have a lot in common and are far more open than they ever were elsewhere. It is this premise of the reality of depression and teen angst that helped me appreciate this book so much, all the while ripping my heart out for all those who once suffered as these teens have suffered. It makes for a great read and I can only hope that more will pick this up and learn that their garden-variety depression is extremely different than the real thing.

Overall review: 4.6 out of 5 stars

7 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Books: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

  1. chester maynes says:

    This is a good book. I don’t know how much more I can describe it but definitely one of the great YA novels that has been released earlier this year 🙂 BTW, thanks for coming up with a blog like this. I’m now hooked reading your book reviews! 🙂

    • Enya says:

      I agree, and I think All the Bright Places will really hit it off soon. Awwwe thanks, I’ll make sure to post some more as I keep reading and watching and listening. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts, I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

