Let’s Talk Books: 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

11180611_818321808257721_2591790704218035118_n

Not to be mean or anything, but I didn’t like this book as much as I thought I would. This is the first book I’ve read by Katie Cotugno and I was kind of disappointed.

When I decided that I wanted to read this book, I decided to go in blind – to which I mean reading it without the getting-to-know-new-book premise. I loved the cover and how causal it feels – not to mention instagram worthy, with it’s polaroid picture puzzle of the main character Molly and one of the Donnelly boys (might be Gabe, I’m not sure anymore).

So 99 Days is about this girl who’s counting down to the day she leaves her hometown for college, all the while dealing with an aspect of her past that destroyed her life as she once knew it. Well, her life and people alongside it included. This was a relatively weak plot from the beginning and although I liked some of the other characters in the story, it didn’t make the cut for me to say this was a good book. The prose was good, but the characters just made me want to bury the book and hope it fertilizes the soil. The only reason I bothered to finish the book was for the sake of closure, and I really felt bad that the message of the book came too close to the ending without room for development – or there were any, they were rushed to the point of near-dismissal.

I wouldn’t recommend this to any self-respecting booklion but for those who are just starting out are welcome to start reading.

Overall review: 2.9 out of 5 stars

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Books: 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

Leave a Reply

