Book Recommendations: For the Hopeless Romantics

Let me get this out in the open first: I AM NOT A HOPELESS ROMANTIC.

It just so happens that I know A LOT of people who fall into this stereotype. And because I read (or at least I try to) read everything, they want recommendations on my less-than-favorite genre – ROMANCE. Most people who hear an opinion like mine might say that I’m “bitter,” or “just secretly lonely.” In truth, romance novels are for easy reading breaks because they are not as visually or intellectually stimulating than adventure of suspense novels.

I mean you can predict everything: Person 1 meets Person 2, attraction happens, some kind of conflict happens (either the main characters have cancer, or someone important in their lives has cancer, or some OTHER kind of life-threatening news or disease is upon them), relationship becomes rocky, “oh no! does this mean the end of *insert couple/ship name here* forever?” part, and then a conclusion (sometimes this doesn’t happen) and BOOM! Ta-Da! CONGRATUWELLDONE on your NY Times Best Selling Romance Novel! You get the idea.

But regardless of what I think, here are my recommendations:

  • If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Yes, I know it’s a movie. I haven’t watched the film adaptation of the novel yet, but I hear it’s good and that Chloe Grace Moretz was a decent Mia. I read the book earlier this year and finished it in one sitting. Why? Because the pace was rushed but not so fast for anyone to forget how the story is currently going. I say this because the storytelling involves a lot of flashbacks but it kept the story interesting enough for me t finish until the next one, Where She Went. Now that you know the title of the second book, you know she didn’t stay. *winks*

Rating: 4.3 out of 5 stars

  • Anna and the French Kiss Series by Stephanie Perkins

This book, along with the two others in this series: Lola and the Boy Next Door and Isla and the Happily Ever After, turned into my go-to books for easy reading. As I mentioned above on the recipe for a NY Times Best Selling Romance Novel, this is one of those books that definitely fit the formula but despite my obvious disposition on romance novels in general, this became one of my favorite trilogies. If only because it’s an an effective mood-booster.

Rating: 4.6 our of 5 stars

  • Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

To be honest, my first Rainbow Rowell book was Fangirl, and although it’s my favorite, Eleanor and Park was the better love story (sorry, Cath and Levi!). In case the cover isn’t on point, the book is about two teens by the name of Eleanor and Park who are misfits by their own fashion and have the same music tastes. Ha.

Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars

  • The Selection Series by Kiera Cass

The Selection is about this girl named America Singer who sings for I living – really, that’s her name, and she lives in a post-apocalyptic world called Illea where the government is in the form of a caste system with Ones as the ruling class until the Eights which are the unemployed. The only reason I finished this trilogy is for the sake of closure. I’m not saying this is a bad trilogy; it’s just that this was really not my cup of tea. It has this Hunger Games (less the killing) and the Bachelor (I don’t really watch it, but I know the concept) feel to it, and in my opinion, doesn’t have the kind of character development that I was looking for – *aggressively looks at America*.

Rating: 4.2 out of 5 stars

  • Shatter Me Trilogy by Tahereh Mafi

Yes, creepy eye covers, but gorgeous nonetheless and this is true for the trilogy. My reason for finishing this is kind of shallow but I like to think it’s justified – I wanted to see if my theory about a certain character (by the name of Warner) was right. Well that, and to see how they carry out the plot line that evolved into something that sounds a lot like X-Men.

Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars

  • The Lunar Chronicles Series by Marissa Meyer

This is one of those fairy tale re-tells where Cinderella’s a Cyborg, Red Riding Hood’s a Pilot, and Rapunzel’s a Hacker. I read this earlier this year, but neglected to write coherent reviews on all of the books, especially when I was and still am going through a mid-series-crisis. The fourth book – Winter, I think it’s called, is about (guess who) Snow White who can (guess again) talk to animals (actually, not sure about this last bit), and it’s really good with a different star pairing in each book, which means – it never gets boring.

Rating: 4.7 out of stars

  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy by Laini Taylor

If you’re not a fan of wordy and really long passages, then you might skip this one. It’s really good, plot-wise, but I have to say that it was really hard to get through this series without falling asleep. This is one of those series that you need to give time to read and think rather than most novels today that spoon feeds the reader everything. Regardless of its verbose writing style, the story of Madrigal/Karou and Akiva is really good and definitely worth the read.

Rating: 4.4 out of 5 stars

  • Halo Trilogy by Alexandra Adornetto

This could be a better alternative to Daughter of Smoke and Bone since the conflicted romance is similar, but the writing style’s a lot simpler. Bethany, Ivy and Gabriel are angels sent from Heaven to help remedy the growing evils in the mortal world. Disguised as humans, they go about the town as model citizens until Bethany meets Xavier, a human, and they fall in love. Obviously the love between Beth and Xavier is taboo so there in lies the conflict.

Rating: 3.9 out of 5 stars

  • The Mara Dyer Trilogy by Michelle Hodkin

This one is creepier and is more of a suspense thriller than a romance but the reason why this is here is because of how original the pairing is for Mara and Noah is. The story was woven so carefully that the twists and turns always keeps you at the edge of your seat. I’ll have to warn you though that this is one of the most compelling macabre series I have ever read and the climax is wonderful.

Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars

  • The Mortal Instrument Series by Cassandra Clare

If you haven’t heard of this series, then you must be living under a rock. But although the Mortal Instrument Series is more popular than the Infernal Devices Trilogy, I kind of prefer the Tessa and Will relationship than the Clary and Jace BUT since I fell in love with them first, I pay homage to their long and – under no circumstances do I have negative feelings about, their extended adventure. Peace out, Shadowhunters.

Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars

 

WELL THANK GOD THAT’S DONE. I hope you like my recommendations and if you do, leave a comment, share it, or whatever, just as long as you let me know what you think, okay?

 

Cheers,

Enya

Leave a Reply

