The Couch Potato Syndrome

A couch potato – as far as I’m concerned, is someone who potentially lazes in any living space, dedicating his or her time to watching television and binge-eating. Nowadays, these creatures have evolved to not just sticking to your good old-fashioned TV, but can now access the infinite media through smartphones and modern-day tablets. But of course binge-eating hasn’t changed. Yet.

But I don’t have the actual disease. I’m just doing my headline some justice and tell you why I think I should really learn to take it easy when it comes to TV Series. You see, October and most of the “-ber” months not only signify fall and the return of the cold, but it also means the return of most of my favorite TV Series, which will be listed below. Don’t worry, this’ll be spoiler-free, I promise.

So what am I watching?

  • ABC’s “Once Upon a Time”

Once_Upon_aTime_promo_image

This is a series I got into by accident. Surfing through channels and I come across what I think was Star World and here comes a promo for a series where all your fairy tale characters exist in our world. From odd relations to trippy flashbacks to magic and sass, this was, and still is, one heck of a roller coaster of a series, after you get through all the world building and plot development in the first few episodes.

Rating: 8.3/10

  • The CW’s “Reign”

reign

I first caught wind of this series from my best friend Ada, of Ambivalent soul. back in high school and I have been hooked ever since. It’s not just the affairs and the pretty faces, but the main reason why is because of the plot. Granted it’s historical fiction, it’s a given that you know what’s going to happen, but with Reign, I just couldn’t drop it without seeing the whole story through.

Rating: 8.7/10

  • ABC’s “How to Get Away with Murder”

How-To-Get-Away-With-Murder-Fanfiction

This one, was recommended by my friends in the Debate Community in my school. And two other relatives. I was not disappointed. The telling of the story keeps viewers at the edge of their seats from the pilot and up until its second episode, and I trust, until the end of the series. The characters are all bold and daring in each of their own way, diverse in backgrounds and situations but united in a single goal – getting through law school and a murder.

Rating: 9.3/10

  • The CW’s “Arrow”

Arrow_(TV_Series)_Logo_001

I have a childhood decorated with times I helped my dad work though his vast collection of comic books. Ergo, I have a special place in my couch for DC’s Green Arrow with his wonderful TV Series. Incidentally, tomorrow’s the scheduled premier of their third season, in which I get to see more of the man I grew up with admiration for – along with several other prominent names in the DC universe (*coughs* *coughs* Batman *cough*)

  • The CW’s “The Flash”

The-Flash-Title-Card2

A spin-off series from CW’s Arrow, this TV Series is so obviously dedicated the fastest man alive. The show debuted its pilot episode earlier today, despite it’s leak sometime ago, and with the first episode in, the resonance of a death is upon the series. But that’s a given, since what would a drama be without good old-fashioned tragedies?

Rating: 8.6/10

  • USA Netwrok’s “Suits”

tumblr_n4o97cik2X1r55f9po1_1280

Granted I only got a single series in, the plot so far holds a lot of promise. This is a series also recommended to me by friends from the Debate Community. Lawyers with a Harvard Pedigree start to look very shiny form this girl who dreams of becoming a lawyer.

Rating: 8.6/10

  • ANC’s “The Walking Dead”

the-walking-dead-logo-poster

Well I always did have a thing for the morbid, and this show – not counting the drama, is full of ways one can learn how to survive a zombie apocalypse. Sorry, I meant walkers. Not that I’m against the drama, but the plot surrounding the characters becomes a reminder how barbaric and humane our deepest sides are, in contrast to the status quo of fake smiles and faux behavior towards each other.

Rating: 9.4/10

  • MTV’s “Teen Wolf”

teen_wolf11_hi_res_logo

Shut up and let me explain. I’m guessing when you scrolled down on this post, you took one glance at the title and cringed, maybe even accused me of being so shallow to even consider adding this show on the same list as other shows like The Walking Dead, Suits, and How to Get Away With Murder. Because here’s the thing – it’s a misnomer. Give the first season a chance. Most of the scenes really ring cliche, abused, and overused but as you escalate into the middle of the first series, trust me, you will be surprised.

Rating: 8.7/10

If I’m being more honest with myself, I am currently watching a few more TV series that are obviously not listed above. There are several more that I have yet to start, and even more that I plan to catch up on. Someday I’ll organize my schedule to the minute so I can show you guys how swamped I am with school and my other responsibilities and rituals. But for now, this should do, and hopefully, help you decide what you might think you could watch when you have free hours – unlike me, but that doesn’t seem to stop me.

Until next time, guys.

Enya

Leave a Reply

