Self-Discovery: Personality Type

So I did a little research on personality types – reference reasons – and came across the 16 personality types. These 16 personality types were derived from the initial idea of Carl Jung in 1910, from his book entitled Personality Types, Myers and Briggs now known as the MBTI (Myers-Briggs Type Indicator). These 16 types are abbreviations of four letters the initial letters of each of their four type preferences (except in the case of intuition, which uses the abbreviation N to distinguish it from introversion) namely:

  • E  – Extraversion
  • S  – Sensing
  • T  – Thinking
  • J  – Judgement
  • I  – Introversion
  • N  – Intuition
  • F  – Feeling
  • P  – Perception

So I took an assessment test (you can take it here if interested: Personality Test ) and the results were eerily accurate.

The result I am referring to is actually the INTJ (Introvert, Intuitive, Thinking, Judgmental) Personality Type. I would go in-depth on explaining what an INTJ is, but I’d rather let this article do that for me: The INTJ Personality Type . So instead, I’ll summarize how accurate this personality type is when applied to my way of life, living and thinking.

  • “INTJ personalities rarely doubt themselves or care much about their perceived social roles, expectations etc. Consequently, they are not afraid to voice their own opinions.”

This is a feeling I get whenever somebody at school comes to me for advice – though this situation is becoming very rare of late, usually because I strike them as mean and uncaring. Then there’s me being on the bottom (I think) part of the social ladder. I get reminded of this everyday but I fail to see how this affects me in any way…

  • “INTJs are very good at improving their knowledge of (often diverse) topics and fields that interest them.”

I do a lot of research especially when my sources are cooperating. I can be assigned to research on this topic and later I’ll find myself explaining the connection between counterstamps in coins and the economy of the Philippines during the Spanish Occupation of 333 years.  Will probably dig in deeper into the inflation that happened and how that government failed significantly in that era later today…

  • “INTJs excel at being able to analyze anything that life throws at them, uncovering the underlying methodology and then applying it in practice.”

Explains my research capabilities and habits. Happens when someone suggests a good book, and if reviews are unsatisfactory – so with the plot and character development – I’ll probably add that book close to the bottom of my Reading List.

  • “They (INTJs) could not care less if that idea is popular or supported by an authority figure – if the INTJ believes that it does not make sense, only overwhelming rational arguments will convince them otherwise. This strength makes them efficient and impartial decision-makers, often at a very young age.”

I’m 16, and I cannot count how many times have I criticized the ideals of several authority figures, especially in their execution of their projects. There’s just no planning involved – unless you count the ever-present underlying motive of making themselves look like they’re the good guys. Prunes.

  • “INTJ personalities can be very patient and dedicated if something excites or intrigues them. They will work hard to achieve their goals, often ignoring everything else. That being said, INTJs may also appear lazy in situations that do not require them to flex their mental muscles – for instance, they may take risks and not study that hard at school, knowing that in all likelihood, they will be able to tackle the tests anyway.”

This explains why I haven’t been kicked out of school yet. Math just bores me unless I try to make it interesting – usually through thinking how I could use the concepts for a murder or a great escape plan for any situation. I excel in my English class and just fall back in Math without making much of an issue about failing – unless this conflicted with any of my recent ideals.

  • “INTJs are very good strategic thinkers, often using this strength to devise multiple contingency plans in both professional and personal situations. They like to plan ahead and be prepared, imagining all the potential scenarios and consequences.”

Could be the reason why it’s difficult to surprise me. Rare am I ever surprised by some behavior or event that has been catalyzed by something very trivial as a natural disaster – referring to the predictability of every single soap opera that has ever been locally televised and all other life applications.

  • “INTJs tend to see these activities as pointless and irrational, preferring inconvenient truth over a comforting lie.”

Sounds ruthless but I cannot contradict. Am too guilty.

  • “INTJ personalities do not mind being proven wrong and enjoy being exposed to something they were not familiar with. They will embrace a competing theory if it makes more sense, regardless of the existing traditions or expectations.”

I like a change of perspective. If you can give me one.

  • “Some less mature INTJs may overestimate the importance of their knowledge or analytical skills, seeing most other people as irrational or intellectually inferior – and often making their opinion known.”

A behavior most often observed when my sister is in the vicinity.

  • “INTJ personalities loathe inefficiency and imperfection, trying very hard to iron out all the flaws and analyze all possibilities – if left unchecked, this trait can easily become a weakness, slowing down their work quite significantly and frustrating people around the INTJ.”

I am inefficient, occasionally. Explains why I always find reason to be frustrated. Everyday. Usually directed at myself.

  • “INTJs tend to believe that everything can be analyzed, even things that are not necessarily rational – e.g. human relationships. They may seek logical explanations and solutions in every situation, refusing to rely on improvisation or their own emotions.”

Proves my theory that I am, in fact, a hopeless person to be involved with. Hooray for my future of being a bag lady with 20 cats and 15 dogs. Maybe a canary if I can get one.

  • “INTJs reach their conclusions very quickly and stick to them. Even though people with this personality type tend to be open-minded, they have little patience for things they consider illogical – e.g. decisions based on feelings, irrational stubbornness, emotional outbursts etc.”

Must be why I detest cliches. To think my own life could be turning into one.

  • “INTJ personalities often pride themselves in being brutally honest and logical. However, while their statements may be rational and completely correct, they may not take into account another person’s emotional state, background, individual circumstances etc.”

So I therefore conclude people should stop coming to me for love advice. Unless you don’t mind hard and brutal honesty and dream/fantasy-crushing comments.

  • Often clueless when it comes to romantic relationships. Many INTJs are likely to have difficulties dealing with anything that does not require logical reasoning and this weakness is especially visible in interpersonal relationships. They may overanalyze everything and get frustrated trying to understand how the other person thinks, try to use a nearly scientific approach to dating, or just give up altogether.”

Given up already. I hope I didn’t do that too soon…

  • “INTJ personalities do not respect rules or regulations just because they are there, they need to be confident that those restrictions make sense. Consequently, INTJs strongly dislike environments that are built on blind obedience, traditions or respect for authority – they are likely to challenge the status quo and clash with people who prefer stability and safety.”

I think I’ve made my feelings for any (incompetent) government known already.

  • “There is usually little middle ground with strong expressed INTJ personalities – other types either find their quirkiness mysterious and attractive, or feel uncomfortable and get offended.”

The latter explains my current social standing school. Not that I’m complaining. I feel best when left alone by an extensive network of high school brand of drama and stupidity.

  • “The INTJs themselves are either proud of their traits and wear them like a badge, or see themselves as eccentrics and do their best to mimic the behavior of other people, trying to blend in. These attitudes soften as people grow and develop, but they tend to be very black-and-white at a younger age.”

Definitely see myself as an eccentric. Wearing it like a badge is like displaying your weaknesses in neon over your head. Probably still black-and-white though…

  • “Most INTJ personalities pride themselves in remaining rational and logical at all times, seeing most emotional displays as a sign of weakness and irrationality… Ironically, INTJs can be just as emotional, if not more so, than any other personality type… For most INTJs, public displays of emotion are outside of their comfort zone and consequently they will do their best to restrain themselves. However, this does not mean that INTJs have no feelings – rather, they tend to be good at channeling their emotions and using logic to keep them in check.”

Huh. Now I know why fast my Fan-girl moments fade (almost) instantaneously.

  • “…revealing emotions or even acknowledging that they exist may be a frightening prospect, especially if the INTJ in question is younger and secretly not as confident as they would like to be.”

High School. I blame school in general…

  • “…if an INTJ is upset, they will not need to tell everyone around them that they are upset – on the contrary, they will focus on identifying why they are upset and then coming up with a logical solution to their problems. Alternatively, they will channel that energy into something productive.”

I work better when under my own pressure. Ask me if I’m okay, expect I’ll brush whatever recent “illness” I had and will lose a little more interest on the person who asked in context.

  • INTJ personalities can be very sensitive and have very deep feelings. Even though these emotions will be shielded from the public view by the dominant Thinking (T) trait and will (usually) not be the deciding factor in the INTJ decision-making process, this does not mean that INTJs should be seen as, or should aspire to be, cold-blooded and insensitive geniuses living by the mantra that emotions are for the weak. This is not the case and is not going to happen.”

I beg to differ. Wait. I don’t beg. I’m BORN to differ.

  • “INTJs spend a large part of their lives in their heads and consequently what they see and understand intuitively can be much more advanced than a “bland” reality. As a result, someone with the INTJ personality may find it challenging to merge that fantasy and high requirements with reality. Unfortunately, their superior logic and imagination may actually hinder the INTJ when they start looking for a partner.”

I don’t think I’ll ever outgrow my tendency to prefer fictional characters over legit boys. I find most guys uninteresting. Sorry.

  • “…an INTJ is likely to have a “checklist” in their mind long before they actually start thinking about a relationship. It is also likely that “he/she must be rational” will be at the top of their list of criteria… There are certain rules (e.g. do not appear too interested) and types of behavior (e.g. a girl should not start the conversation first) that a person interested in finding a dating partner is expected to follow – and unfortunately for INTJs, the majority of people will follow those rules.”

Of course they have to be rational. Who wants to date an idiot? Especially an idiot overly immersed in the crazed thinking of society? The sadder thing is, most idiots are female.

  • “…INTJs are likely to get quite disappointed after the first few attempts at dating and may even start thinking that everybody else is either irrational or intellectually inferior.”

Yes. Most everybody are irrational and/or intellectually inferior.

  • “As most INTJs have difficulties with dating and relationships, their self-confidence takes a major hit in those situations and the INTJ then overcompensates by showing off their intelligence, which makes them even more unattractive.”

See that people? Being smart is a Turn On – Sherlock, anyone? And a total Turn Off. Me so obviously the latter.

  • “The mind of the INTJ personality is geared towards looking at conflict situations as logical puzzles, worthy of analysis, which does not always help when their relationship partner does not share the same notion of fun.”

This is actually my kind of fun. I mean really, WHO DOESN’T LIKE TO DISSECT THE GREATEST ESCAPES/CRIMINAL FEATS/MOTIVES?

  • However, the calm exterior can be deceiving – it is more than likely that the INTJ will feel very hurt inside and spend extensive amounts of time figuring out what went wrong, especially if they had devoted a lot of time to dating or making the relationship work.”

The silent river waters often run deep… Sounds like me…

  • “INTJs are bewilderingly deep and intelligent people, bringing a lot of stability and insight into their romantic relationships – but as already mentioned, that extraordinary intelligence is their main enemy in this area.”

Beware my brain.

  • “It is not easy to become an INTJ’s friend. People with this personality type value rationality and intelligence more than anything else, and tend to automatically assume that most of the individuals they meet are likely to be less intelligent than they are.”

I don’t really make that assumption, no… But sometimes over the course of the “friendship,” I find out and then that just dies.

  • “INTJs would rationalize this (perceived arrogance) as a natural filtering mechanism and argue that most people simply bore them. Consequently, INTJs tend to have very few good friends – but they also do not really see the need to have a big social circle.”

I don’t see the point in having a million strangers dubbed as “friends” when I can just have a handful of morons with the same level of insanity as I do.

  • “INTJ personalities are very independent and self-sufficient. They see their friends more as intellectual soul mates than as sources of social validation and assurance… Furthermore, it is quite unlikely that the INTJ will enjoy physical manifestations of feelings (hugs, touches etc.), even with close friends.”

I am the giver of hugs and light affections. Being on the receiving end is just a little uncomfortable.

  • “Not only INTJs are comparatively unemotional, they are also likely to try to suppress emotions that get through their mental filters – as emotions are definitely the INTJ’s Achilles’ heel, they do their best to not let them through, in fear of breaching that shield of logic and rationality.”

I think that in itself is explanatory…

  • “That being said, INTJs have no difficulties relaxing and enjoying themselves among close friends. Their renowned sarcasm and dark humor make INTJ personalities great storytellers, as long as the audience can understand (and withstand) their jokes.”

So much truth in very few sentences… Hooray for Sarcasm and Dark Humor…

  • “INTJs are generally very “low maintenance” friends, who do not require much attention or constant contact – they understand the value of privacy and independence, and will actually push their friends to become more independent as well.”

Why not? Independence is great, as long as your built for it and prepared.

And so that concludes my newest Self-Discovery. Will try to see if I can post about my OCPD – if I can be bothered, in the future.

Leave a Reply

